Home / Tourisme / The Basque Country “south side”

Visit the Basque Country "south side" DURING YOUR HOLIDAYS IN SAINT-JEAN-DE-LUZ!

The southern Basque Country is the part located in Spain. It is made up of 4 provinces: Navarre, Alava, Guipuzcoa and Bizkaia.

Below you will find a description of the most authentic and pleasant coastal towns and villages in Hegoalde (southern Basque Country) :

Cities :

Fontarabia (Hondarribia) :

Fontarabia is famous for its tapas and nightlife. It is a coastal fishing town with colourful Basque houses and balconies overflowing with flowers. It is possible to go there by sea shuttle from Hendaye.

San Sebastian (Donostia) :

San Sebastian is 30 minutes from Saint-Jean-de-Luz. With its historical past, French-influenced architecture and traditional Basque culture, San Sebastian is one of the most modern cities in the country. Very lively, it is surrounded by splendid landscapes and spectacular beaches.

It is possible to go to San Sebastian by train from Hendaye.

Pamplona (Iruña) :

Pamplona, Navarre’s modern and welcoming capital, bears the marks of centuries of history. Pamplona has an appealing mad charm that is hard to forget. Don’t miss its famous San Fermín festivities when the traditional bull races are held.

Bilbao (Bilbo) :

Since the creation of the Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao has gone from being a grey industrial city to a modern and dynamic city that rivals the major European capitals in just a few years.

Vitoria-Gasteiz (Vitoria-Gasteiz) :

Vitoria-Gasteiz is a friendly, comfortable and convivial city. The city holds international certification as a sustainable tourist destination and you can easily visit Victoria-Gasteiz on foot, from its green belt to its historic neighbourhoods.


The villages :

  • Zarautz
  • Getaria
  • Zumaia
  • Mutriku
  • Lekeitio
  • Gernika
  • Bermeo
  • Getxo

Special offers

Discount in low season* (from 11/05 to 28/06 and from 31/08 to 12/10)

  • -10% from 7 consecutive nights.
  • -15% from 14 consecutive nights.
  • -20% from 21 consecutive nights.

* The tourist tax is not subject to this discount (€ 0.29 / night / adult, 18 and over)